Images from around the school


The Governing Body is committed to supporting the Headteacher, Leadership Team and staff in working to ensure that Battling Brook delivers a fantastic education in a first class environment.  The Governors are confident that your children will enjoy their time at Battling Brook, developing both personally and academically year after year.

We are always seeking to engage more closely with the parents and carers of our pupils and welcome your feedback.  Any questions or comments about the work of the Governing Body can be addressed directly to me via the school office.  I look forward to hearing from you.

Fiona Lucas - Chair of Governors.


The principles of our Academy Governance are that we now have greater autonomy.  Governors continue to delegate functions to committees, the Head Teacher or any other holder of a leadership role.


Academy Trust

We have established a Trust known as ‘Battling Brook Primary School’, which is a charitable company No. 08512087 limited by guarantee, and as such we are required to comply with ‘The Companies Act 2006’  Trustees and Members of the Trust are listed in the Annual Report forming part of the Annual Account.  A range of documents appertaining to our Trust are available to view below:


We adhere to the DfE guidance for dealing with allegations of abuse against teachers and other staff.


The governing body of Battling Brook Primary School

  Governor Type Position
 Mr Stewart Marsden Staff Principal & Accounting Officer
 Mrs Anne Radford Staff Staff Trustee
 Mrs Lisa Mathie Staff Staff Trustee




Ms Karen Turton Community   
 Mr John Welford Community  




Mr Stuart Barnes Community Trustee
 Mrs Hannah Ablett Parent Trustee




Mr Phillip Woolaston Parent Member
 Mrs Jenny Cooling Parent Trustee




Mr Niki Wileman Parent Governor Chair of Finance & Audit Committee
 Mrs Fiona Lucas Community

Chair of the Governing Body

Chair of Pay & Performance Committee

Chair of Safeguarding Committee


Mrs Dina Tampin Parent


Vice -Chair of the Governing Body

Chair of TLA Committee




Mrs Jane Burgess Non-Voting Clerk  

The instrument of government came into effect on 5th July 2004

Committee Member

Diary Dates 

  1. Articles of Association
  2. Immigration, Asylum &Nationality Act 2006 Prevention of Illegal working Jan'14
  3. Battling Brook-Code-of-Conduct-2015
  6. Battling Brook Funding Agreement - website
  7. Committee Members 2017-18
  8. Diary Dates 2017-18
  9. Governor Types and Terms of Office 2017-18
  10. Record of Attendance - Committee Meetings 2017-2018
  11. Record of Attendance Full Governors 2017-2018
  12. SUMMARY of Pecuniary Interests 2017-18